Information Technology

Our Mission

Since 2000 all County locations are connected with Fiber Optic Cabling or other broadband solutions.  The Whitfield County IT Department manages a virtual server environment, VOIP phone system, managed switch network, and wireless network for all County Departments and other agencies. Agencies supported by the IT department are the Conventions and Visitors Bureau, United Way of Northwest Georgia, Tunnel Hill Heritage Center, Department of Natural Resources/USDA, Dalton Whitfield Community Development Corp., Environmental Health, and Community Action.  The IT department maintains data and servers for all major departments and well as on-site backup and off-site backup to protect the County’s data.

IT Policies

IT Services to County Government

  • Comprehensive Technology Infrastructure
  • Land Line and Cellular Phone Service and Support
  • Network Security and Data Backup
  • Public and Private WiFi in most County Buildings
  • SPAM Filtering and Virus Protection
  • Self-Hosted Employee Email and Resource Portal
  • County Website Design and Hosting

Contact Information

Information Technology
301 W Crawford St., 
Dalton GA 30720

You can reach the Help Desk by phone:
(706) 281-4800 or local 4800
by email:
ithelpdesk@whitfieldcountyga.com

IT Staff

  • Rick Lovelady,
    Director
    rlovelady@whitfieldcountyga.com
  • Larry Taylor
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    ltaylor@whitfieldcountyga.com
  • Rusty Gregg
    Systems Engineer
    rgregg@whitfieldcountyga.com
  • Tim Warnix
    Sr. Network Analyst
    twarnix@whitfieldcountyga.com
  • Cindy Sherrod
    Network Analyst
    csherrod@whitfieldcountyga.com
  • Scott Czerneski
    Network Analyst
    sczerneski@whitfieldcountyga.com

Staff Certifications

MCSE